Lush – Comfort zone challenged – A review of my new hair care routine

In the past I have always only used the solid shampoo and conditioning bars from Lush. Swapping them occasionally to use either Jersey Bounce or Big and I love how they all worked with my hair. However, I decided I was going to have a change. This was a big thing for me as I love my hair. Since coming out as trans my hair has been something I adore and for me to change my style and routine was a big big big thing. But I went into Lush with my partner Oliver to buy some things which can be seen here and i treated myself to some new shampoo and other goodies! So in this blog I am going to talk about why branching out to new realms was a really great thing to do…even if it did push me out of my very secure comfort zone.

I decided on buying Rehab…I had gone to try Daddy-o but sadly the smell didn’t agree with Oliver and I thought it was a little too sweet smelling. I also bought the Avocado Co-wash. I couldn’t wait to try them out. As I have mentioned in my bio; I am a trans-masculine non-binary person. I have been on testosterone for nearly a year and a half now. This means I am starting to grow awful scraggly hairs under my chin which in no way resemble a beard so have to come off. I love the sent of Dirty so I got my products ready and headed to the shower.

img_2021

I know the Avocado Co-Wash can be used as a conditioner come shampoo but it doesn’t lather up as much as I would like. I already knew this from the demo shown in the Manchester Arndale Store by Colin. I ALWAYS wash my hair twice but with Rehab its not something you need to do (although I still do and its a habit I need to kick).

Rehab is a really nice fruity shampoo, its a great consistency that stays in the palm of your hand and smells divine. It contains so many fruits; papaya, pineapple, kiwi and mango. Then if that wasn’t enough goodness from the juice its mixed with organic extra virgin olive oil and jojoba oils which are great for strengthening hair. It also contains seaweed and sea salt which i find gives my hair a real bounce.

After washing my hair twice with Rehab I then continued in what was an amazing refreshing shower with the Avocado Co-wash. I decided on keeping the bar as dry as I could as from reading reviews online many people say it can disappear fast, I am lucky I have short hair so not much is needed so I know I will get value for money. I rubbed the Co-Wash in circular motions on my scalp all over. I payed particular attention to the crown of my head as i have a scar across it from operations as a child, because of this the skin sometimes goes really dry and itchy. The Avocado Co-Wash didn’t lather in my hair, but it made it feel so nourished, and the smell was amazing.

I then showered with my second favourite shower gel…It’s Raining Men (bodies). It makes me want to burst into song…and that I assure you I do in the shower.

img_2025

So if you want nourished, shiny, lovley smelling hair that stays that way for at least 48 hours then I urge you to give both Rehab and the Avocado Co-Wash a go. I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.

Here are links for the UK Lush Store where you can see the ingredients and buy:

Rehab
Avocado Co-Wash
It’s raining men

Thanks for reading!
If you try them let me know what you think!
Bye for now

Evan
xox

 

Leave a Reply

